Love the sinner, hate the sin!

Posted: June 24, 2013 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , ,

“Wow! Look at that sinner over there! I’m glad I’m not THAT kind of sinner!” (thots you & I may not admit we’ve thought but maybe have?) While reflecting on God’s love for us & His call to obedience as He calls us to show that same love to others, I am reminded of just how He sees us. When He looks at me He doesn’t see me as my worst sin! My sins don’t label me as that sin! He doesn’t instruct me to love only those whose sin is on a “lower scale” than mine but to love every sinner as He loves this sinner-me! See, there is no scale to God! He sees all of our sin as the same! Even as Christians in the everyday church today we still tend to measure our sins by a scale of better & worse sins. Then we attempt to point out the “worse” sins of others & totally disregard our “mediocre” sins. Just because we haven’t been outwardly caught in our sin or we haven’t had our sin paraded out in front of the whole world or even our own church family doesn’t mean that our sin is any different to God! We are all struggling with our sins, some may seem more than others only because maybe they’re being more transparent than we are. Could you imagine all your sins (mine included) being on a screen in front of your church family? How would that make us feel? I’m so thankful they aren’t but more importantly I’m thankful what God has shown me about my sins & His love for me in spite of those sins. I know it sounds like a cliche’ but ever heard “love the sinner, hate the sin?” That’s God! My identity is not based on my sins just like yours aren’t either! It’s based on who I am to God and His amazing love for me! So I hope you’re encouraged by His love for you too! There is NOTHING, absolutely nothing you could ever do that would change His love for you! The same goes for me too! As a Christian I’m expected to be holy as He is holy & to love as He loves. Then with the guidance & power of His Holy Spirit, and allowing Him to bring my sin into the light, through His grace & forgiveness I am able to receive His love and resist the temptation to act on my sins & I’m able to resist the lies of the enemy-Satan-who “seeks who he will destroy!” Proverbs 16:9 “A man’s heart deviseth his way: But the Lord directeth his steps.” I may not choose my sins or desires that tempt me but I do have free will to choose whether or not to act on them. Prov. 16:3 assures me that if I set out to resist a specific sin that God will establish that plan. (“Commit to the Lord whatever you do, and he will establish your plans.”) Galatians 5:17 says, ” For the flesh sets its desire against the Spirit, and the Spirit against the flesh; for these are in opposition to one another, so that you may not do the things that you please. ” Galatians 5:16 tells us how to win: ” But I say, walk by the Spirit, and you will not carry out the desire of the flesh. ” The Holy Spirit gives us victory. So before we go out and mistreat or hate someone because of their sin we need to check ourselves against God’s definition of sinner and admit that we’re all in the same boat! Satan finds what we’ll believe, tells us lies about who we are and that God could never love that kind of sinner and we miss out on the amazing & powerful love of the Heavenly Father! Accept that love from God and then watch how the closer you get to Him the more resistance you’ll be able to exercise toward submitting to the specific sins you’re struggling with today. You won’t turn perfect but you’ll have the advantage over sin that you won’t be facing it alone any more in your own limited power, just like me & mine. The depth of God’s love – John 3:16 “For God so loved the world that whosoever believes in Him shall not perish but have eternal life.” In obedience to His Word I share His love with you & pray you find the true meaning of love – His love and then allow Him to direct your paths.

Comments
  1. Read this great post talking about how while all sins do earn us the wrath of God, all sin is not viewed by Him as equal. http://thegospelcoalition.org/blogs/kevindeyoung/2011/05/03/one-more-time-on-moral-equivalence/

    • lhug143 says:

      Thanks Ryan. I did read it and I can see his points. I do feel the intent of the heart has a lot to do with the sin also but what I’m saying is that we, as people, aren’t the ones to determine which sins are worse if we say some are and some aren’t, only God can say that. It’s also different dependent on if it’s a believer or lost person committing the sin. Do they continue as a believer to blatantly commit the same sin? The consequences on earth also vary from the eternal consequences. I also agree with this statement I read at another posting: “The Bible seems to indicate that there are degrees to sin—that some are more detestable to God than others (Deuteronomy 25:16; Proverbs 6:16-19). However, when it comes to the eternal consequences of sin, they are all the same. Every sin, every act of rebellion, leads to condemnation and eternal death (Romans 6:23).” This goes a lot deeper than my blog and his post but I’m not able to talk about every scenario, etc. It’d take a lot more time and space. I guess my point is that we don’t need to be so quick to point out every one else’s sins, especially in a church family, unless we’re willing to let them point out ours too. “And as they continued to ask him, he stood up and said to them, ‘Let him who is without sin among you be the first to throw a stone at her.’” John 8:7 But I do think there was a lot more to my blog than just the degrees of sin being discussed but you didn’t mention anything about your feelings on how we treat each other in churches today and how we do tend to rate how we treat people based on our knowledge of their sins. Just curious~

Leave a Reply

