~Second Chances~

Posted: November 15, 2012 in Just Me
Tags: , , , , ,

Boy! Is it convicting when your own child reminds you how incapable you are of giving second chances to someone who’s hurt you…even after forgiving someone…
You wonder if you’re giving them permission to once again hurt you…
You wonder if you’ll ever trust again….
But then when you do give that second chance….
And they don’t even want to take it?
Well, that’s the confusing part I think. Why does it have to be so hard? Why do we have to try so hard? Why can’t it be a chance at the good instead of a reminder of the bad that you already forgave? I don’t have these answers but as God’s Word instructs us – I will ask for wisdom to discern the times to give those precious, second chances because we’re also told to “guard your hearts.” I guess as long as Abba continues to grant me forgiveness and second chances, let alone third chances too, I will ask Him to help me extend the same to those who hurt me too. I’m no better than anyone else.
I’m glad I have a son who’s willing to forgive, forget & give second chances and I just pray he doesn’t get hurt again for his big heart! But, if he does, if I do the next time, I know our Heavenly Father will not only go through it with us but also be proud of us for doing what He says is right.

Leave a Reply

