Hurt and Trust

Posted: January 9, 2012 in Just Me
Tags: , , , ,

Once you’ve been hurt, severely hurt, to the core – are you able to ever again trust that person completely? Right now I’m feeling the walls go up again with someone who caused me a similar kind of hurt. What sparked it? Seeing someone very close to me accept an apology from another someone who hurt them, betrayed them and tossed their relationship right out the window. Don’t get me wrong – I’m all about forgiveness & second chances. But you know that saying? “Hurt me once, shame on you, hurt me twice, shame on me.” I believe that God equips us with these precautionary measures to protect us. An instant fear surfaced that I thought was gone. We had not even experienced the same hurt yet I became extremely overprotective of my “close person” so that he wouldn’t get hurt again also.
I know it’s the enemy causing my spirit of fear and mistrust. It’s also experience with these people who hurt us even though they’ve both been forgiven, long ago.
Is it safe to trust again? Is is ok to let them have any kind of place anywhere near our hearts again? I need to definitely search God’s Word for some advice on this one. So, once I do, I’ll be back and share what I learned….

Leave a Reply

