Inevitable? God changes inevitable!

Posted: June 6, 2011 in Just Me
Tags: , , , , ,

“If you say that an event is ‘inevitable’ it means it is going to happen and there’s nothing you can do about it. Dictionary definition: certain to happen. unavoidable.”     Read more: http://wiki.answers.com

It may seem, to the outsider, as if we’ve tried to chase dreams in our past by moving state to state. But each time we have truly felt a sense of God’s hand in our move as we considered the decision to relocate, etc. He has placed different opportunities ahead of us that led us to make such moves. We’ve learned to listen to Him!

At a time when we don’t know what lies ahead, where Scott’s talents are best used, we find ourselves facing the daunting task of once again starting over. I know this place. It’s quite familiar.

Today,  I couldn’t help but think of the “inevitable”. Not that I believed it was inevitable to be in this position again in our lives but what’s ahead – that was where that word spooked me. But no sooner had I thought it than I faced the reality that – to God- there is no inevitable – only to man. God is totally capable of changing the “unavoidable” and those so called things that “you can do nothing about, certain to happen”.  Jesus replied, “What is impossible with men is possible with God.”  Luke 18:27 (NIV)

There is some truth to the definition where man is concerned but fortunately if, as a Christian, I submit to God’s will for my life, I am not in control of the outcome! That, in itself, should eliminate worry and fears!

So, today, right this moment, as I search the Word for a “hug from my Heavenly Father” – Abba, I’m praying for the assurance that He is in control.   So I read: Job 42:2 (NIV) “I know that you can do all things; no plan of yours can be thwarted. ” I’m praying for direction so I’m reminded:    “Trust in the Lord with all your heart; do not depend on your own understanding. Seek his will in all you do, and he will show you which path to take.”   Proverbs 3:5-6 (NLT)

I know that God hasn’t given up on us even though it feels so hard lots of times.  Ps.57:2.”Being confident of this very thing,that he which hath begun a good work in you will perform it until the day of Jesus Christ.”  The fact that He’s still got a hand in our lives lifts me when I can’t get up again.

I have assurance. I have hope. I also have a stronger faith today than when we first started our journey together: me, my husband and God – our 1 “cord of 3 strands” (Eccl. 4:12).  He’s brought us closer to Him and to each other – for this I am grateful!

I’m by no means an expert at understanding all the scriptures so I decided to consult a commentary in exploring a very familiar passage online. I know Romans 8 very well. I come here often. But while reading this excellent commentary on Romans 8 tonight, I chose to use the words of the author (with appreciation for the gentle, loving reminder):

“God knows the end from the beginning. A Christian may undergo setbacks presently and all seem to work against him. But he has a hope that everything works together for his good only. God is a sovereign God. No one can stop Him from doing what He has preplanned in the child of God. There is God’s providential care & protection in his life.”   By D.Alexander Jacob http://www.vbvbc.org/bible-verse/romans8-28/all-comments/#comment-224

Comments
  1. Kim Darnell says:

    Isn’t it wonderful to know that our Abba is in control and to have His peace that is beyond understanding? Praying for you as you listen and do what He directs. Love you!

Leave a Reply

