Peace and Rest

Posted: May 25, 2011 in Just Me
Tags: , , , , , , ,

“Dear God,  Please surround us with a hedge of protection and I pray I see Your hand in all of this and bringing us safely, peacefully to the other side where we will give You all the praise and the glory for Your will being done! I pray for peace, an amazing peace that only You can give! I pray for direction, wisdom and discernment when needing to react to oncoming storms while still on this earth! I don’t know what You have in store for us but my family is in Your hands & I trust You to know what’s best for us! Take this fear away please! Hold me up Lord! I’m breaking and can’t do this on my own! As hard as this is to say, I’m willing to go through this with You if this is where You want me! In spite of my circumstances I have faith in You and know that You are bigger than any storm, any wind, any danger! Tell me what to do please and when to do it! I need to feel Your hand in mine! Thank You! In Jesus Name, Amen”

I had to start with a prayer instead of end with it to put me in the right frame of mind and heart to even proceed.  The past month has been devastating to say the least: tornadoes, complete ruins, tragic losses, fear, sadness, our home town of Tuscaloosa destroyed in a lot of areas, and then my mom’s medical condition worsening.  I’m freaking out at the moment, afraid of the oncoming weather for tonight and tomorrow, wondering “HOW MUCH MORE?” I don’t know how much more of all this we can take! Not just me but those poor people who have already lost so much and are trying to recover or find lost family members still and have to stop searching because of the weather getting worse again! It’s almost the end of May and April was bad enough! The warnings are freaky but I know it’s only to prepare us! So ready to be on the other side looking back. I must be hopeful or I wouldn’t be sitting here copying future school work for my kids as if we’ll be here in 3 years to even do it. My only hope comes from God alone!

Job 11:18 NIV (New International Version)”You will be secure, because there is hope; you will look about you and take your rest in safety.”

I’m at the end of my human rope emotionally; that’s where God finds me and holds on tight to me! I can’t be the “angel who stays awake to care for her family” tonight! I’m exhausted and there’s nothing left in me to weather another storm! It’s not like before when I was deathly afraid of storms, I got past that! This is so different really! I can’t explain it! I wonder how much longer until I’m able to be HOME safe and sound, with my family and away from all the groaning and moaning of this earth! Away from the hard, the sad, the evil in this world. Only God has helped me be able to find the good, the amazing moments in time and the light at the end of the tunnel, oh so many times! He has blessed me and my family with so much and met all our needs! I just need a little more sleep to be able to handle more – I think – right now.

My husband is so wonderful and has helped me through so much and we’ve grown so much closer to each other and to God through everything we’ve been through, especially since those we thought were once our friends have very little if anything to do with us and we are in this for the long haul together!

This blog is all over the place and probably makes very little sense to the onlooker but if you take anything from this – take that I know my value in God, I know He loves me, I know He’ll take care of me, of us, I just don’t know what that means for our tomorrow! I don’t have to know. I do trust Him. I just need to know what to do next? Sleep or be alert – watching and waiting? Not for Him, (oh how I wish), but for the storms or the next obstacle on this earth. Some people blame “lack of peace in Israel”, some say it’s “God punishing the US”, some say “it’s the end of the world as we know it.” So many opinions, so much hard and hurt!

My thought has to be “what do I tell my kids when they ask why?” or “what do I show my kids when they watch to see my reaction to all this?” How about “what am I teaching them by my emotional roller coaster?” besides that Mommy is hormonal, lol. Those questions are very convicting!

So, since I’m still searching for answers to give them, I need to spend even more time in God’s Word, with the hope that they’ll learn what God wants them to learn from me instead of what the world wants them to think. How’d this end up about my kids? They’re who I think of as the Mommy-protector, them and my husband. They continue to sleep through the storms while I stand guard, listening and waiting for God’s direction and then God’s peace and then my sleep – my rest!

Another comfort that God has provided has been music and one particular song I go to quite often is “Never Let Go” by Matt Redman…….

Here are several direct and indirect Bible references in the song, “You Never Let Go”:

Verse 1:
Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death (Psalm 23:a)
Your perfect love is casting out fear (1 John 4:18)
And even when I’m caught in the middle of the storms of this life (Mark 4:35-41)
I won’t turn back (John 6:66-69)
I know You are near (Psalm 145:18)

Pre-Chorus:
And I will fear no evil (Psalm 23:4b)
For my God is with me (Psalm 23:6)
And if my God is with me (Psalm 46–especially verse 11)
Whom then shall I fear? (Psalm 27:1)
Whom then shall I fear?

Chorus:
Oh no, You never let go (Hebrews 13:5-6; Deuternomy 31:6; Joshua 1:1-9)
Through the calm and through the storm (Isaiah 25:4)
Oh no, You never let go (John 10:27-28)
In every high and every low (Ecclesiastes 7:14)
Oh no, You never let go (Psalm 55:22)
Lord, You never let go of me (Matthew 28:20)

Verse 2:
And I can see a light (John 8:12) that is coming for the heart that holds on (Psalm 27:14)
A glorious light beyond all compare (Matthew 17:1-5; 1 Timothy 6:16)
And there will be an end to these troubles (2 Corinthians 4:16-18)
But until that day comes (1 Thessalonians 5:1-2; 1 Peter 1:13)
We’ll live to know You here on the earth (Philippians 3:10-11)

Chorus

Bridge:
Yes, I can see a light (2 Corinthians 4:6) that is coming for the heart that holds on (Psalm 97:11; Psalm 57:4-7; 2 Thessalonians 3:5; Hebrews 10:35-38)
And there will be an end to these troubles (2 Corinthians 4:16-18)
But until that day comes (1 Thessalonians 4:13-18)
Still I will praise You, still I will praise You (Psalm 71; Ephesians 5:8)

If the song has one overarching Scripture reference, I’d say its Romans 8:28-39 and especially verses 38-39:  “For I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither the present nor the future, nor any powers, neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord.”

Leave a Reply

