P o s t-T o r n a d o T h a n k s

Posted: May 1, 2011 in Just Me
Tags: , , ,

As I reflect on the past couple of weeks and the extreme weather we’ve experienced I can’t help but count us blessed, truly blessed!

Living in Arkansas, we were faced, once again, with “riding the storm out”. The pressure I felt each night staying awake, while the rest of my family slept, ensuring I woke them up for the sirens and tornado warnings, really wore on me! I also had to make sure my husband was up in time for work – 4:30am – if the power went out. We had no battery operated alarm clocks and our cell phones had died. I was a physical and emotional mess from lack of sleep and the stress of not knowing when to wake them and when to let them sleep.  I remember one night, us holding hands, sitting as a family in the hall, praying and reading scripture together.  Isaiah 43:2 “When you pass through the waters, I will be with you; and when you pass through the rivers, they will not sweep over you. When you walk through the fire, you will not be burned; the flames will not set you ablaze.”

As we sat huddled together, during the most serious of the tornado warnings,  I watched my sweet daughter fall back to sleep. She was sitting on the floor  in such a peaceful state that it relaxed my anxieties for a bit also.  In spite of all that AR experienced we suffered very little damage. Our power was only out for 14 hours. A few trees fell on our fence and the house was never touched.  My family was safe & sound. For all of this I am extremely thankful!

The severe thunderstorms continued but the tornado threats seemed to diminish. However, over in Tuscaloosa, AL, our home town, it was only getting started.  4-27-11 was a tragedy! It looks like a warzone! It’s so sad and heartbreaking! The fear of not knowing about friends, even after finding out about family, was sickening. As the day went on, we did find more and more of our friends to have been spared even though some of them lost everything materially. All my emotions literally exploded when I did reach one of my very dear friends, Teresa, and realized she was ok and her family was safe! For all their lives and the lives of all our family & friends, I am extremely thankful!

But when I sit here, days later, and I consider all the events of the past 2 weeks, I find there are so many things for which I am thankful!

For the lives of my family – I am thankful!

For the lives of my friends – I am thankful!

For no damage to our home – I am thankful!

For power – I am thankful!

For clean drinking water – I am thankful!

For a yard that’s not overflowing in water from the culvert beside us – I am thankful!

For trees falling AWAY from our house – I am thankful!

For friends willing to help other friends – I am thankful!

For a home church who puts the needs of their members and community above everything else – I am thankful.

For the ever present love, strength and protection of my heavenly Father – Abba, I am eternally thankful!

Romans 8:38-39 “For I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither the present nor the future, nor any powers, neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord. “

Leave a Reply

