“Friendship is a Two Way Street”

Posted: March 9, 2011 in Just Me, Uncategorized
Tags: , , ,

“Friendship is a Two Way Street.” What does it mean?
Recently, I was asked this question so for the fun of it, I googled it: “Best Answer – Chosen by Asker
It means that friendship, like most other relationships, takes an effort from both people to work. (as opposed to a situation where one person just gives gives gives all the time, and the other just takes)” http://answers.yahoo.com/question/index?qid=20090104204557AAx6LwR
I think I agree with this person’s answer! I do see how others would think it might also mean that friendship is determined by the direction a friendship could go – 2 different ways.
I know I seem to be focusing on friendship lately but when you are going through something with someone you call a friend, it’s normal to blog on it too, lol.
I’ve accepted that time being put into this friendship isn’t going to be what I ever dreamed it would be. But I guess if you have a history with someone that involves some heartache, that, even though both have forgiven and tried to move forward, Satan, their true enemy, will only continue to bring conflict between the 2 friends for years to come. I don’t know how to stop it permanently but I have been growing closer to God and the closer I get the less I desire to even participate even one more time in any disputes, arguments, etc. that might propel us forward to another wall between us. I can’t choose what makes others mad and I can’t walk on glass around them either but when they don’t communicate without yelling or defenses, then we go nowhere but backward. I don’t have to do the same. I can keep the peace, at least on this side. But how many times will I be willing is the question I guess. As long as God holds me up because I can’t do it on my own. I don’t have the heart and strength left. It’s too hard and happens way too frequently than I’d like it too. If it were up to me, I’d quit trying. God has brought us through so many things and some really hard times together but I can’t keep going through a hurtful relationship if there’s not more good than bad and more time invested in the good. I’m human too and it does hurt to be hurt! I’ve asked God to help me with removing drama from my life this year and stop me from getting in the middle of it so I may seem hesitant to pursue conversations that seem to be heading to an argument but I have to handle it this way. I know the consequences and I refuse to put myself in those spots again, to the best of my ability. Once you’ve said or done something to someone, it’s hard to take it back. You can only expect to be forgiven so many times for your insensitivity and meanness. You can’t blame the devil for everything you say or do that’s mean but you can determine, with God’s help, to not submit to his way but to submit to God’s and to show love and have peace between each other.
Ephesians 4: 31-32 NIV
31-32 “Get rid of all bitterness, rage and anger, brawling and slander, along with every form of malice. Be kind and compassionate to one another, forgiving each other, just as in Christ God forgave you.”
I remember my mom always saying “It takes 2 to fight but the 2nd person could stop it by not going further with it.” I guess I’m finally listening and trying to be the 2nd person who didn’t go further.
Pray, with me, that as Christian brothers and sisters, still having to live in this world, that we focus more on God’s way of handling things rather than Satan’s.  God wants us to have peace with each other but that, too, is a 2 way street!

Leave a Reply

