Nothing Fancy but a good friend….

Posted: February 15, 2011 in Just Me
Tags: , , ,

Friend.  Can you honestly say you’re a good friend to your friends?  With so many people coming and going throughout our lives, how many do we count as true friends?

According to Webster Dictionary:

1a : one attached to another by affection or esteem b : acquaintance
2a : one that is not hostile b : one that is of the same nation, party, or group
3: one that favors or promotes something (as a charity)
4: a favored companion
5capitalized : a member of a Christian sect that stresses Inner Light, rejects sacraments and an ordained ministry, and opposes war —called also Quaker
According to the Bible by way of a link I read at:
There is an example of true friendship in 1 Samuel 18-20 between David and King Saul’s son, Jonathan. Saul pursued David many times trying to kill him and Jonathan stood by his friend by helping him get away.

The book of Proverbs gives many examples of friendship. Proverbs 18:24 says, “A man of many companions may come to ruin, but there is a friend who sticks closer than a brother.” And Proverbs 27:6 also says,” Wounds from a friend can be trusted, but an enemy multiplies kisses,” which means that in order to have a friend, you must be a friend first. True friends should be of like mind. You should be able to be yourself with this person and not someone else. And true friends also shouldn’t put another down or judge one another. You should also be able to talk and confide in one another and trust that your friend would keep it in confidence and not tell the whole world. A friend is also someone you should respect and respect you and jealousy should never become a factor. Jesus Christ gave us the definition of a true friend in John 15:13-15, “Greater love has no one than this, that he lay down his life for his friends. You are my friends if you do what I command. I no longer call you servants, because a servant does not know his master’s business. Instead, I have called you friends, for everything that I learned from my Father I have made known to you.”

My opinion:

You know sometimes I wonder why I try so hard with some people to be their friend. To get close to them when they aren’t trying at all. To get to know them better and include them in my life when it’s not their priority. Then there are others who make just as much effort as I do or more and I should just be focusing on them. They’re the true friends in my opinion. Not a friend of convenience or when it suits them. It can really hurt when someone I like and wish I knew better doesn’t want the same from me. Sure life gets busy but it’s busy for me too. God has placed some amazing people in my life but I can also be considered a really good friend if they’d let me be theirs. He’s given me a big heart for my friends and those I wish called me their friend too. It’s not a pity party just a realization that not all people handle friendships the same as I do, with my whole heart and a lot of effort. I’m reminded that I can be that way easily with Jesus if I’m not careful. I have to make sure I make room for Him each and every day, throughout the day and that He never doubts His place in my life, especially since He’s my best friend!

Leave a Reply

