Lessons Learned While Fighting the Battle

Posted: November 14, 2010 in Just Me
Tags: , , , , , ,

Sunday, November 14, 2010

Life has been hard for a while now and it’s only going to get harder over the next couple of months. There have been and will continue to be many lessons learned so I thought I needed to learn them, remember them and use the lessons learned to avoid having to go through them again, hopefully?  But if I do have to repeat these lessons, I can review, apply and not linger in the dark places as long the next time! I pray that these lessons I’m learning are help to you also as we all try to survive this battle we’re facing on this earth and that we can know the real joy in Christ and that our faith will continue to grow!

EVIL:                                                                                                                                              God has reminded me that this fight that we’re fighting is not against evil humans but against our #1 enemy: Satan!  (Eph. 6:12 “For our struggle is not against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the powers of this dark world and against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly realms.”) He is able to use people to orchestrate disaster and chaos in our lives then we have to live with it! That’s the hard part! The victory is ours though, in the end! We may continue to fight while living on this earth but we aren’t fighting alone! We aren’t going to lose the final battle! Satan does not know everything about us but he does know what we allow him to see bothers us and he watches, waits, and then pounces on us! He knows how to work things to his advantage and when we become weak and lost, that’s when he gets the upper hand in our lives. It’s not the easiest thing to do but we have to stay in God’s Word, continue going to church, being around other believers, pray God’s Words, His promises and allow God to carry us through. Satan will have to flee and we will be stronger because of how we allowed God to get us through to the other side of all this!

Psalm 32:10 “Many are the woes of the wicked, but the LORD’s unfailing love surrounds the one who trusts in him.”

Prov. 20:22 “Do not say, ‘I’ll pay you back for this wrong!’ Wait for the LORD, and he will avenge you.”

MANIPULATION:                                                                                                                       While looking for a rental house the other day, the property manager gently suggested we manipulate the truth, to the owner, in order to get us into the better of the few available houses on the market.  Immediately, I had mixed emotions. I know – my first reaction should have been an emphatic NO! However, I listened to her justify that the owner was out of state and hardly ever returns to her properties, that we’re good people and we would be good for this house, that she has good intentions of getting some money coming into that house for the owner and that she’s just afraid that if the owner knew, then she’d say no. (see we have 3 cats and 2 dogs – she allows pets but not that many cats inside) The property manager knows our cats are declawed, fixed and with no carpet on the floors of this house they would not be a problem.  We left it at us getting back in touch if we were interested. The first conversation with Scott was that we didn’t like the dishonesty.  Then the more I thought about it, I got this overwhelming prompting of the Holy Spirit to go spend some time in His Word.  Of course, you know what is written about deceit and how that would never fit into God’s plan for us if that’s truly where our interest lies.  ( 1 Peter 3:17 “For it is better, if it is God’s will, to suffer for doing good than for doing evil.”) So, since we want nothing but God’s approval, His will for our lives and the house He wants us to have, we obviously decided to be completely upfront and see what happens. (Romans 6:17 “But thanks be to God that, though you used to be slaves to sin, you have come to obey from your heart the pattern of teaching that has now claimed your allegiance.”) That will have to be a “stay tuned” type lesson as we haven’t been able to reach the property manager yet. Nevertheless, I’m sure that no matter how that turns out, it will be a lot less stress over that decision since it’s the right decision and was a perfect opportunity to teach a valuable lesson to our kids. (Our daughter really liked that house.) She will get to see how God can work this to our good and how the home He has in store for us will be even better! (Romans 8:28And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose.“)   Can’t wait to see her face! By the way, the peace that I feel since we told the kids we weren’t going to manipulate the details in order to get what we want but were willing to wait on God, is AMAZING, to say the least!

Psalm 9:10 “Those who know your name trust in you, for you, LORD, have never forsaken those who seek you.”

Psalm 56:4 “In God, whose word I praise— in God I trust and am not afraid. What can mere mortals do to me?”

11/15/10 Monday….IMPOSSIBLE!                                                                            Nothing is impossible with God!  (Luke 1:37 “For nothing is impossible with God.”) I got a phone call from the property manager today telling me, almost laughing hysterically and in utter disbelief, that the owner who would not allow inside pets in her rental house, approved not only 1 cat but all our pets because she has a cat, so she understands completely! Was I shocked, well, no not really because I woke up this morning expecting a “God Thing” and ta dah! there it is! I typed out a list of anxieties, worries and concerns that are clouding my mind and Satan is using to confuse and scare me.  (Philippians 4:6 “Do not be anxious about anything but in everything by prayer and petition with thanksgiving present your request to GOD. And the peace of GOD which transcends all understanding will guard your heart and mind in CHRIST JESUS.”) I turned that entire list over to God and prefaced it with “can’t wait to see what YOU’RE going to do!”  (Hebrews 11:6 “But without faith it is impossible to please Him, for he who comes to God must believe that He is, and that He is a rewarder of those who diligently seek Him.”) Don’t tell me that it’s impossible; We have God on our side! This is His doing so it has to go His way! Stand by and watch!

Tuesday, 11/16/10  WAITING!                                                                                            Well, this is new to me – my attitude about waiting! Believe me, I can’t promise that it will be this way every time I find myself in this position – to wait – but right now – it’s with anticipation of seeing just what God is up to that I’m so unaware of and how He’s working this plan of His! I can’t wait to answer the phone or wake up to a new day of “guess what?” (“In the morning, LORD, you hear my voice; in the morning I lay my requests before you and wait expectantly”) and  (Psalm 143:8 “Let the morning bring me word of your unfailing love, for I have put my trust in you. Show me the way I should go, for to you I entrust my life.”) Normally, and probably again, but not now – I wait with anxiety and fear of the unknown.  I’ve always known what the Bible says about waiting and how to handle that part of life.

Psalm 130:5 “I wait for the LORD, my whole being waits, and in his word I put my hope.”

Psalm 37:7 “Be still before the LORD and wait patiently for him; do not fret when people succeed in their ways, when they carry out their wicked schemes.”

Romans 15:13 “May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace as you trust in him, so that you may overflow with hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.”

Right now, I’m able to trust completely, wait expectantly and let the peace that He promises overflow as we proceed one step at a time.  We got one “no” today but He can still change that “no” to a “yes”. We’ll see if that’s His plan!

Sunday, November 21, 2010 – TOTAL SURRENDER!                                                  Ok, so you probably think like I have in the past that you surrender to God one time and you should never have to do it again, right? NOT! Yes, you surrender to Him when you accept Him into your life and you become a believer but as I grow closer to Him, I’ve found that I continue to go back to Him, on my knees, tears flowing and broken – begging Him to direct my every breath!

As the lessons come and the results surface, I will keep posting so….do stay tuned…..

Leave a Reply

