In Honor of Kimberly on her b’day

Posted: August 9, 2010 in Family, Just Me
Tags: , ,

Kimberly and Me, Sept. 2009

Today is my younger sister’s 41st birthday. Wow! When did that happen? I remember when my mom went to the hospital to have Kimberly. I was so upset. I didn’t want her to leave me to go have THAT baby. See, I was the baby and did not want to give up that precious rank in the family. I was almost 6 years old myself. I begged but she went anyway. Finally, my Daddy brought my Mommy and THAT baby home. But, one look at that babygirl and I was never the same again! She became “my baby”. I helped my mom take care of her and never missed a chance to boss her around, just ask her, she’ll tell you even today. Hopefully the bossing has minimized over the years. But, somehow, in the midst of all that caring and bossing, we became best friends.
With me being in the middle, I normally shared a room with either her, when she got older, or my oldest sister, Launa. Wonder how she felt when they brought me home, huh? That’s probably another story since we are only 21 months apart in age. I doubt she remembers. By the way, we’re best friends too. I am so blessed!
Anyway….over the years, Kimberly and I went through a lot together. There were times we got mad at each other but always ended up right back together and forgave each other. There was such a connection between us. There were times we hurt each other’s feelings and I know we both would love to erase those memories, fortunately the love allowed us to forgive each other and move on. “A friend loves at all times…” Prov 17:17a New International Version
I’ve watched her go through life and take a number of different paths (as we all have). I’ve watched her grow as a person and gain more self esteem as she’s come to realize just how special she is! I’ve seen her allow another person, her husband, to care and to love her, just as she is! With that love, she’s become who she was always capable of but doubted, she could ever be! I’ve listened to her knowledge and awareness as she’s had to mature over the years. I’ve admired her determination and strength as she’s endured some sad heartaches. I’ve felt her love as she wraps her arms around me and tells me she loves me. She has an amazing sense of humor, in spite of life, and a great laugh that I love to hear! “Rejoice with them that do rejoice, and weep with them that weep.” Rom 12:15 New King James Version
We’ve shared secrets, stories, clothes, heartaches, advice, encouragement, long talks, support, great times together, difference of opinions, but mostly a heart for each other. If you can’t tell by now, I love my little sister and yes, she will always be just that to me: my little sister, no matter how old she is! I’m very protective of her and love her with all my heart and am so proud to call her one of my best friends in the whole wide world! “Though one may be overpowered, two can defend themselves. A cord of three strands is not quickly broken.” Eccl 4:9-12 New International Version
She’s accomplished so much over the years with what she’s had to deal with sometimes. I am so blessed that she was put in our family and that my parents didn’t listen to a 6 year old 41 years ago. I’d be so lost without her! I love you Kimberly! Happy Birthday from your big sis!
My prayer for you sis:
“Dear Heavenly Father, I pray for Kaomie right now, for her health and safety, put a hedge of protection around her and her family. Wrap Your arms around her and hold her close to You so she can feel Your love for her. Meet her needs, right where she is today. Remind her how special she is to You! I pray she values the relationship she has with You and knows in her heart, without a doubt, that she will go to heaven when she dies and that we will spend eternity together after our life on this earth is over. I thank You for her and what she means to me! Thank you for our friendship and memories! Thank you for her life! Continue to bless her and her family as she’s been a huge blessing to me! Keep her healthy and if it’s Your will, I pray that we get to make many more wonderful memories together again soon! I love her so much! In Your Heavenly Name I pray, Amen.”

Comments
  1. Kim Darnell says:

    so sweet! Happy Birthday, Kimberly! You have a great big sis! Love ya, LeeAnne!

Leave a Reply

