How will you be remembered?

Posted: July 21, 2010 in Just Me
Tags: , , , , , ,

My mind’s all over the place while my heart is searching for just the right words to express the calmed silence I feel right now. Monday, one of our church’s youth unexpectedly stopped breathing and passed away. She was only 15. Since then, I have felt drawn to her family, the comments left on facebook from her friends and mostly drawn to God. This girl left a huge impact on everyone she encountered in her short life. Some, who had only met her once, recall her kindness, her sweet spirit and her love for God. WOW! What a convicting reminder of the effect you, we, can have on people, even when we meet for only one time!
Her brother quoted something she’d written in her journal one day and it brought to mind my blog entries and what people might read one day, when I’m gone, that I wrote. Sure, journal entries are more private but they were thoughts she had between her and God. I started keeping a prayer journal, several months ago but have become lax. Another conviction to become more consistent with that. See, that family is continuously being reminded by her friends and family, fellow students, church members, what their daughter and sister meant to so many people. There are so many blessings being shared with them right now, and I’m sure they weren’t even aware of many of them. It has to comfort them to know the true person she was even when she thought no one was watching. John 13:34 & 35 “A new commandment I give to you, that you love one another; as I have loved you, that you also love one another. By this all will know that you are My disciples, if you have love for one another.”
It made me wonder what people would say about me and my testimony after I go to join my Heavenly Father one day. I want people to see God in me, feel His love through me and know Him better because of what He’s done for me!
It’s been truly amazing to go through this part of their journey with this family, even as somewhat of an “outsider”. They’re allowing God’s plan to be followed through, they’re accepting His reasons even though they don’t understand, they’re continuing to praise Him in the midst of this loss, they’re clinging to other Christians and experiencing all the love He has for them. No, all this won’t take her place but being able to appreciate beauty in a picture of a butterfly on the beach & letting it brighten their day, being able to read facebook comments and respond with thanks to everyone of them, relying on scripture to carry them through and so much more that they’re doing the past couple of days has shown me just how much God means to each of them. I would expect no less from the testimony of that amazing, young, Christian lady who is enjoying seeing the face of her Heavenly Father. Such a short life but she lived it to the fullest and she served her FATHER so well. God had an awesome purpose for her and we’re seeing it minute by minute! I pray that many are saved even today as they go the viewing and then again tomorrow as they go to her funeral to say “see you soon Meagan!” It’s amazing how God can take a stranger’s life, a young girl (I barely knew her), to change the life of one of His other children, still remaining, for the time being, on this earth. I can’t wait to see you again, Meagan, to thank you for your testimony, your inspiration and to just get to hang out with you in Heaven. I know God is “well pleased” with you! We all love you!

Comments
  1. Kim Darnell says:

    thanks, LeeAnne, for sharing!

Leave a Reply

