Praise You in This Storm!!!

Posted: April 18, 2009 in Family, Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , ,

When I first began this blog today, I considered sharing why storms (real storms) don’t scare me like they used to years ago…..but as I listen to this amazing and reassuring song by Casting Crowns, I am reminded that I am still “in this storm”!!!  I can’t help but feel convicted that I’m not faithful to continue praising Him all the way through but He is faithful to carry me through!!!  “Never left my side, though my heart is torn, I will praise You in this storm!”

But back to the rain, wind and loud, damaging type of storm:   Years ago, I did have to go through a different kind of storm, more than once….lots of damage to our houses, yards, trees, hearts and added lots of fear! Fortunately I had a very loving and qualified Christian counselor at our church in AL who I loved and who shared God’s truths with me, along with various close girlfriends who “held my hand” through it all! Any night that a storm would wake them, they’d hit the floor praying for LeeAnne, no matter where I was at that time! I remember Miss. Alice asking me where I found the most comfort and it was in their prayers, the Word, my husbands’ arms and the arms of those friends! My stronghold at that time was to imagine my friends and husband around me, praying on my behalf, surrounding me with their prayers and then me crawling up and into my Savior’s lap where He would hold me all through those storms, while my friends and husband would continue to pray for my fears to go away, all the time circling me with their love and prayers!  It was around 4 years that I went through some scary tornadoes, storms, wind, whatever was associated and they would always bring back smells, sounds and helplessness on my part. The anxiety attacks were worse than awful! I never thought I’d get past those fears! Finally, one day, in the hallway of our AL house, during the middle of what Katrina decided to do to AL, surrounded by my family of 2 kids and my husband, with my Bible in my hand, reading and quoting scripture (God’s promises), while shaking like a scared child, my heart pounding out of my chest, choosing to sing songs of praise to Abba, I began crying out to Him in total surrender, tears were rushing out of my body like a floodgate, I felt this overwhelming and amazing peace come over me like I’d never experienced before! It was ok, I didn’t fear what that storm could do to us any longer! I trusted God! Even if it meant we didn’t survive it or everything got taken away from us, we would still be ok! It was breathtaking and I’ll never forget the peace that can only come from God!

The verse I was reading at that very instant was Psalm 32:6&7: “Therefore, let everyone who is godly pray to you while you may be found; surely when the mighty waters rise, they will not reach him. You are my hiding place; you will protect me from trouble and surround me with songs of deliverance.” Selah. (August 2005)

I focused on that verse as the tears changed to smiles and hugs with my family, as the wind calmed and we walked outside to see the aftermath and as my kids looked at me, realizing the change that had taken place that day! I could also see a peace in them that comforted me about their future fears and how they had learned to handle them. Now, Zach will tell me that when there’s a storm, he goes straight to his Bible and reads till he falls asleep. Most of the time they sleep right through the storms! A friend of mine, Elizabeth, shared several verses with me during those years but one that I especially shared with Zach was Proverbs 3:24 “when you lie down, you will not be afraid; when you lie down, your sleep will be sweet”.  Zach was terrified like me way back when and I was praying for the day when he’d find peace too. I know he has in his own way and I am so thankful for deliverance from those fears, they strangled me with their grip on me.  A sister, ok, a chosen sister/friend, of mine in AL, Teresa, just asked me how I came to this place in life where I can sit in the storm outside and watch the rain now, listening for the birds who always sing afterward, when just hearing the wind would send me into a panic and I told her, while giving God all the glory,  it was about “total surrender” and God’s promises then His peace came! I have to thank God again for my Grace girlfriends who’ve always had and continue to have a heart for me, no matter what, they fill so many gaps for me while they so faithfully continue to pray on my behalf, while the miles separate us, but the love holds us closer than ever! Hopefully this story of conquered fear will challenge you to trust completely and believe His promises, then you too, can have peace!  Don’t forget that fear is helpful but the spirit of fear or letting it control you is when it’s not: fear is very real but….it can be managed!   Your day of peace is nearer than you think!!!

2 Timothy 1:7…
For God hath not given us the spirit of fear; but of power, and of love, and of a sound mind.

Leave a Reply

