“Growing Pains”

Posted: March 14, 2009 in Family, Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , ,
The Growing Pains of Life

The Growing Pains of Life

My son, Zach, has often times complained of “growing pains” in his legs, arms and now his back. (at least that’s what we’re calling it now) I don’t remember going through that when I was little. Kristin has had her fair share also and they are miserable when they experience the acheyness. Then, on the other hand, they’re constantly coming up to me, especially Zach and measuring himself against me to see how much taller he is and how soon he will surpass his Mom! Trust me, it won’t be long! Isn’t it funny how something you look forward to can be so painful and you have to endure that pain for awhile before you can experience the growth?! You end up benefiting from the pain! I’m still trusting God to bring me to that side of my “growing pains”! I have such a desire to know Him and to experience the plans He has in store for me! It’s just been so painful and hard to go through the physical and emotional draining of it for all these months! Fortunately, it is never Spiritually draining because He continues to fill me with His love, His heart for me and His promises! Don’t mistake that to mean that I’m always “up” in the Faith department but it’s not His fault, it’s mine! He continues to restore me and He’s helping me to do an amazing amount of growing! Yes, I had to get to a place where I could honestly say “Thanks for the growing pains and whatever you have in store for us, for me, Your will is what I truly want!” Not easy but necessary in order to trust Him completely! I want to make my kids’ growing pains go away when they’re hurting so badly. I’m sure God doesn’t like seeing His child, me, hurting either when I go through my very own “growing pains.” But, like me, He knows that the outcome is worth the temporary pain and He allows me to endure it “for a little while”. My kids are usually so excited when they get measured and see how much they’ve grown. I look forward to the day when I look at how far I’ve grown after all these everyday “growing pains.” I hope you’re encouraged, as I am, by the following verse, one of my favorite!

Jeremiah 29:11 (New International Version)

11 For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.”


Leave a Reply

