Their Choices; Your Heartache

Posted: October 10, 2008 in Just Me
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Without going into any real details about my life right now…..have you ever been in a similar situation? You do everything, within your power, to keep communication open, do your best, make some one else look good in spite of their wrong choices and cover them but then BAMM! Right out of left field, they nail you with betrayal and animosity toward YOU? What’s up with that? How’d it get so turned around? Now, it’s lack of trust and watching your back so as to not be caught off guard again or you find yourself walking on glass and afraid of what they’ll do next? Sound familiar? Well, here I am again! I hate it, absolutely hate it!!! How did my wanting to do right get turned around into me having to defend my self and stand up for who I am? How do they get away with their mistakes causing my heartache? Not a fun place to be, let me tell you first hand!

Begging God to show me how to handle this undeserved and sickening position I’m in, He brings me straight to I Peter. Not just one special verse but numerous!

1st – the admonition – “…be holy in your conduct, because as it is written, Be holy, for I am holy.” I Peter 1:15-16

2nd – our role as strangers in this world – I Peter 2:11,12: “Beloved, I beg you as sojourners (we are foreigners here) and pilgrims, abstain from fleshly lusts which war against the soul, having your conduct honorable among the Gentiles (Non-believers), that when they speak against you, as evildoers, they may, by your good works, which they observe, glorify God in the day of visitation.”

3rd – our obligation as Christians to submit voluntarily to authority: I Peter 2:13-17 “….For this is the will of God, that by doing good you may put to silence the ignorance of foolish men – as free, yet not using liberty as a cloak for vice, but as bond servants of God. Honor all people…..” Nelson Study Bible “Our actions should make our accusers speechless, like a muzzle placed over their mouths.”

4th – our submission to our “masters” (good or bad), I Peter 2:18-25 “…be submissive to your masters with all fear, not only to the good and gentle, but also to the harsh…..when you do good and suffer, if you take it patiently, this is commendable before God…..because Christ also suffered for us, leaving us an example that you should follow His steps.” (oooh, that’s a hard one, huh?) “It’s about injustice, about people being treated worse than they deserve.”

5th – our temptation to return evil for evil, I Peter 3:9 “not returning evil for evil or reviling for reviling, but on the contrary blessing, knowing that you were called to this, that you may inherit a blessing.” It’s so hard but we have the Holy Spirit within us who will help us with this required, yet huge, amount of self control! vs. 10b-12 “Let him refrain his tongue from evil, And his lips from speaking deceit. Let him turn away from evil and do good; Let him seek peace and pursue it. For the eyes of the Lord are on the righteous, And His ears are open to their prayers; But the face of the Lord is against those who do evil.”

6th – our assurance and trust in Him, I Peter 3:14b-17 “And do not be afraid of their threats nor be troubled…..For it is better, if it is the will of God, to suffer for doing good than for doing evil.”

I know this entire book is really directed specifically to us as Christians and our personal testimonies to others (non-believers) as we live among them in this world but I also know that these verses also apply to my present situation and have brought me peace, through the tears, trust in Him and not man, and His faithfulness to once again “be for me and not against me” which is all I need to get through this situation! Be encouraged and remember this is only temporal! Praise God for that!

Comments
  1. melanieross says:

    i don’t know you but i just wrote a blog on betrayal. me and my husband just walked through a similar situation…only with family…please read my blog, maybe it will minister to you as yours did to me.
    My mom commented and showed me in scripture where Jesus defined family. God is so good and faithful when man is not…he also brings others in your life to bring healing and “replace” where there is lack from the one who betrayed. prayers and blessings to you!

  2. candyf says:

    If you get a chance would love to chat!
    email me if you want at
    cfitch@bigdawgsalsa.com

    candy
    http://areyoutheregod.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

