Never 4 Granted

Posted: September 1, 2008 in Uncategorized

Hoping to reach more readers than only the friends on my facebook, I am copying this note to warn those of you who Take Friends for Granted……It’s going to hurt you in the long run when you could benefit from such huge blessings. God tells us to go the extra mile for a friend. Jesus was the best example of how to treat your friends. We all need to take a look in the mirror and ask ourselves if we even acknowledge our friends’ feelings or simply choose to overlook them or ignore them. The last few days have been so hard on me and the tears have barely stopped. The timing couldn’t have been worse and the pain goes so deep. It has to stop hurting soon, I pray it does! God can soften even the hardest hearts and even if they’re people you call friends who have built such tall walls, even if you weren’t the reason for them, you still get to feel the impact of them! Accepting what you can’t change is so hard, especially when it would benefit both of you! But…..we have to…accept those things and then keep praying and pleading with God to break down those walls because my intent is only to bless and enrich that friendship not destroy it!!! I have to pray that God helps me to be able to forgive this person even if they aren’t willing or able to apologize and don’t acknowledge issues I try to confront to bring us closer.

Above all things have intense and unfailing love for one another, for love covers a multitude of sins [forgives and disregards the offenses of others]. ~ 1 Peter 4:8 (Amp).

Just today I was talking this over with my husband, Scott, and praying that people in our lives don’t live with regrets over not letting others in…..over not tearing down the walls and feeling the true blessings that friends can be in your life…over not making their friends a priority and how they might avoid going to such efforts to show they matter….we are truly blessed to be able to call the special people in our lives our friends because they don’t just take from the relationship, they give back, they share, they love, they trust us enough to be real and they know the true value of a real friend and not just a friend of convenience or only in name. This photo came to me from a “stranger on CafeMom” who I’ve been emailing back and forth, without even knowing anything about my day or last few days, and she’s able to be this kind of a friend, she’s not ashamed to call me “friend” already. She’s already opened up and shared her world, her heart and her fears, prayers, etc. in such a short time and I am so thankful for her. Friends do matter, make time for them, tell them now how much they mean to you, one day it might be too late to express to them what you wish you had!

Comments
  1. candyf says:

    I lost my best friend 5 years ago from a tragic hospital mistake and I still wish she was here. When I need a shoulder to lean on it saddens me that I can’t tell her how much she meant to me.. the bond between friends are tough. Willow trees remind me of the way we need to be. Bendable. Your in my prayers.

Leave a Reply

