“I have climbed to Thee by the path of pain…”

Posted: August 4, 2008 in Just Me
Tags: , , , , , ,

Ever heard of the Scottish author and preacher: George Matheson (1842-1906)? Well, I hadn’t either until today. We visited a different church today, actually right here in our own little town and the preacher had written a letter on the back of their calendar handout. I didn’t read it till I got home. He referred to an author and his quote. It fit our situation so well! Matheson was blind but he expressed in his prayer: “I have thanked Thee a thousand times for my roses, but never once for my ‘thorn’…Teach me the glory of my cross; teach me the value of my ‘thorn.’ Show me that I have climbed to Thee by the path of pain. Show me that my tears have made my rainbow.” He (the preacher) continued his letter with the following: “I don’t need to say it, but what a wonderful and matchless and loving God we have. No matter how much we falter and stumble in our praying, the fact is He hears us. His heart of infinite love responds to the needs and emotions of our own inarticulate heart. So keep on praying! In these days of uncertainty and chaotic circumstances in which we find ourselves in so many times, let me encourage you to work as though everything depended on you, and pray as though everything depended on God. And by the way it does. Let’s pray as never before, that we will see the hand of God in all that we do as His people…..” Needless to say, I was touched, convicted and reassured! July was an absolutely awful month for us and just when we thought we were on the upward end of it all, Crash!!!! Life throws us another “bullet to dodge!!!” Some moments are harder to continue the climb, some of this pain feels like more than we can bear, but we have a God who loves us, prayer to stay connected to Him and His promises to hold to tightly……Thank God He holds us in His arms of love, especially right now, because otherwise we would fall hard! Still counting our blessings and trusting in His heart for us! Please don’t let our reality bring you down but be encouraged by this message and by the proof of His love for us as His children! He will bring us through! (thanks again to so many of our precious friends and family who are holding our hands and hearts as we continue to “climb”)

Leave a Reply

