Desiring To Be Closer to God

Posted: June 24, 2008 in Just Me
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

This summer I’m determined to do a few things that are long overdue: right up front is my desire to grow closer to God through His Word, search for answers, find Biblical reasons why I believe the way I do, along with a few things with the kids: teach them to cook certain favorite recipes, review safety precautions, fire drills, teach Kristin to ride Zach’s bike, work on specific physical talents with them outside and have fun with my kids – like we did the other day on the waterslide! That was great! I also plan to spend lots of time just talking with my hubby and getting to know more of who he is and why. Trust me, that’s a good thing too!

So……the verse in James that keeps me focused on my -“right up front” goal – is in chapter 1 and it’s verse 22. I needed a verse to grab ahold of me, shake me gently and make me do what He says! In June, after the end of school anyway: I started reading various books and they’ve been helping me to draw so much closer to my Abba. I’ve read: “He Chose the Nails” by Max Lucado, “Mere Christianity” by C.S. Lewis, re-read “How to Listen to God” and had to add a humorous one, which I’m still reading: “The Best of Barbara Johnson” – you know, the lady with the Geranium in her hat? I love her but It’s hard to read all the tragedies she’s survived, but wait! She’s survived them so there is a great reason to read them too. Her attitude is all about how God wants us to react to life! We had home church this past Sunday….achey bones, no sleep and determination to stay in the word as a family….we discussed the symbolism of the “veil being torn from top to bottom” and how much that allows us to have 24/7 access to God! I tear up, you know – cry like a baby, everytime I think of how “the cruelty of man was actually the sovereignty of God”. See, we are welcome to enter into God’s presence – any day, any time! He’s removed the barrier – the curtain = our sin! The message of the torn flesh is: YOU ARE WELCOME! The curtain is down! Praise God! Remember the song by Kutless: “Take Me In” ……it’s all about being able to enter God’s presence! I know I’ll never listen to that song the same way again after experiencing Sunday with my family and what it meant to each one of us! I love how the cross…”an instrument of execution”… is the “universal symbol of Christianity” and how that “tool of torture”…has come to “embody a movement of hope”! God’s love reaches out, wide and knows no limits. He desires to have a relationship with us! The “cross is where God forgave His children without lowering his standards”. 2 Cor. 5:21 There’s so much I”ve been reminded, showed for the 1st time and just soaked in as I determine to practice living in His presence and act on my desire to be closer to God! It’s not about feelings and experiences, it’s about knowing He loves me and wants to spend time with me! That has to put a big, silly grin on your face, it did Me!!! My heart has never been more open nor my desire been more real than right now! I need this and I know Satan is spittin’ nails, Ha!Ha! Gotta love that part! He’ll try to deter me and influence me with lies so I ask you, as my friends, to pray that I’m covered with His blood, kept safe from outside influences, since I’m so open right now and for wisdom so that I can discern what’s right and wrong. Pray that I am able to listen but more so, that I obey Him. I am so excited to see where He takes me. I also desire to give an answer to my kids when they question me about my faith, my beliefs and have a solid foundation in His Word! THIS is what’s important to me – in my life – right now! It’s about time girl! 🙂 Get ready for the ride!

Several quotes taken from the book: “He Chose the Nails” by Max Lucado

Comments
  1. Kim Darnell says:

    I’m praying for you! Man, I love it when you get that “I think my head might explode” feeling when Abba is so real. He’s in the middle of doing a great work in all of us. Nichole Nordeman has a song (I don’t know what it’s called), but it talks about being a rock in God’s hands that is just a little bit smoother…I like that. Most of the time change happens so slowly that we get discouraged, but I’ve been reminded that change happens in the little things, the small revelations. Awesome stuff!

Leave a Reply

