It’s Ok Mom, I’m Growing Up

Posted: June 7, 2008 in Family
Tags: , , , ,

Where do I start about this one? Wow! As most of you know: my “baby” turned 11 recently and it was a huge event for both of us but for different reasons! I dreaded it like crazy! My kids know – out loud – how much I don’t like the idea of them getting older. I don’t know if it’s because I feel like I’m losing certain controls over them and their decisions or if it’s because it means they’re getting closer to not needing me but: “I DON’T LIKE IT ONE BIT!” Now, having said that, you have to continue reading because I get a huge wakeup call from God! I realized that my son’s 11th birthday was actually the most relaxed birthday and easiest birthday I’ve ever given! Can you believe it? See, God did a real number on me (excuse the human terminology) and He reminded me ever so gently that:

#1. He only loaned our kids to us.

#2. He is watching over them.

#3. He loves them more than I do.

Psalm 127:3 (NIV) Sons are a heritage from the Lord, children a reward from him.

#4. He knows what’s best for them.

Mark 10:16 And he took the children in his arms, put his hands on them and blessed them.

#5. It’s ok for me to “let go of them” to a certain extent (they are still in my care).

#6. We’ve taught them according to His Word so it’s up to them to make the right choices.

“But as for you, continue in what you have learned and have firmly believed, knowing from whom you learned it and how from childhood you have been acquainted with the sacred writings, which are able to make you wise for salvation through faith in Christ Jesus.” (2 Timothy 3:14-15 ESV)

Can you only imagine the peace that I felt all day? Even in the midst of 3 boys and 2 girls all over the place during the party, I was calm and lovin’ every minute of it! Only God can do that, believe me! He also gave me a bonus and provided a way for one of my girlfriends to spend some time with me during some of the party. We actually even got to talk and catch up some. That was awesome! See, He knew exactly what I needed and how to go about it! He’s so amazing! I just love Him so much and am so thankful that He’s brought me to this place of acceptance and trust in Him! Oh….I can’t forget…we even had a ceiling leak in the midst of it all but guess who took great care of it for us? Yeah, that would be God again!

I want to leave you with a verse that came to mind during this blog that says it all:

You keep him in perfect peace
whose mind is stayed on you,
because he trusts in you.
Trust in the Lord forever,
for the Lord God is an everlasting rock.

Isaiah 26:3-4

Comments
  1. Kim Darnell says:

    That’s awesome, LeeAnne! Jesse’s 10 birthday was the easiest friend party I’ve ever given. Jeff brought some of Jesse’s friends home for school. They jumped out of the van and played basketball for a couple of hours. Then, we ate pizza and cake and icecream. After that, they went back outside and played football for over an hour…4 hours…easy as pie. I was amazed! Glad Zach and you had a great birthday! 🙂

Leave a Reply

